Details of Unspoken's New Album "Follow Through" Revealed


Unspoken will release Follow Through, their second full album for Centricity Music, on August 26th.  The project features four producers at the helm with Seth Mosley (Newsboys, Citizen Way), Tedd T (for King & Country, Mutemath), Christopher Stevens (TobyMac, Michael W. Smith) and Mitch Dane (Jars of Clay, Bebo Norman).

With the release of Follow Through, Unspoken has found a place of new freedom to push the boundaries of their trademark sound, mixing in horns and electronic elements in fresh ways without altering the core of their musical identity. Follow Through evidences a forward leap of artistic evolution from the last record, blending hip hop, soul, pop and folk influences to tell the story of the season of life the band members have found themselves in over the last couple of years.

Band members Chad Mattson, Jon Lowry and Mike Gomez co-wrote every song on the album, as the record delivers the heartfelt lyrics and singable melodies the band is known for. Then add the smooth, soul-edged pop vocals of lead singer Mattson, the complex vocal harmonies of Gomez and Lowry, to the skilled musicianship of drummer Ariel Munoz and new band member, keyboardist Don Eanes.

There will be two versions of the album with all new, original songs.  The standard edition will feature 10 songs and will be available at all digital and retails outlets.  The deluxe edition, exclusively available at Lifeway stores, all digital outlets and at the band's concerts, will feature 14 songs with "Sleep In The Storm," "Can't Deny Your Love," "Roots" and "Solid Rock" that are only available on this version of Follow Through.

"If you've been around the Unspoken guys at all, you know they're some of the funniest people you'll meet. But when it comes down to writing and recording a record, they get very serious," explains John May, Vice President of A&R, Centricity Music. "I'm grateful for the months of work each one of them poured in to getting the songs, the sound and the story of this record right. From the very first song written to the last round of mastering, every note of this record expresses some portion of the care and love the guys feel for their fans, and their commitment to the One who makes the music possible."

"I had felt burned out for a while," admits Mattson, "like I didn't have anything left to give. The whole process of the last few years had just worn me down. I feel like this record is kind of a resurrection. And with the title track being 'Follow Through,' the theme of finishing as strong as we did in the beginning has emerged. I think this new album represents a fresh beginning for us spiritually and musically."

The first single from the album, "Higher," is currently going for adds at radio, with 24 out of the box adds that include SiriusXM "The Message," KSBJ/Houston, TX, KSOS/Las Vegas, NV, KXOJ/Tulsa, OK, The Joy FM Network /Sarasota, FL and Atlanta, GA.  The Mosley produced song starts with a piano intro and then delivers a big impact up-tempo on how God can lift us higher even through our troubles. Other up-tempo songs include "The Cure," "Open The Clouds," while the mid-tempo tunes feature "Miracle," "Solider," "So Good To Me" and the title track that delivers a message of carrying on with our "hearts on fire."  "Life In The Death Of Me" and "Wait On You" are powerful ballads with the latter providing a message for our times with the lyrics, Through sickness and pain/Through trials we face/Through war and through loss/We won't lose faith/With our hands lifted high/We look to the sky/In you we remain/On you we will wait.


Unspoken will have a busy touring season this summer with appearances at festivals and dates in Philadelphia, PA with Tenth Avenue North, Tulsa, OK, Wildwood NJ and Midland, TX. For continued updates please visit online at,,, www.instagram/unspokenmusic.

About Unspoken

Unspoken received their first K-LOVE Awards nomination this year for the single, "Call It Grace," that is the second single from their previous 2014 self-titled album.  The first single from the project, "Start A Fire," became the band's first No. 1 song at AC Christian radio. Unspoken released their first Centricity Music EP in 2012, Get To Me, with the lead single reaching Top 5 at radio.  The group's second EP, The World Is Waking, led to another Top 5 song with "Lift My Life Up."  The group became headliners on the 29-city Start A Fire Tour in 2015, which also featured JJ Weeks and Jonny Diaz.  Unspoken has performed with such major acts as Big Daddy Weave, Sanctus Real, Chris August, among many others.  All band members reside with their families in the Nashville, TN area. 



Tags : Unspoken unspoken new album unspoken follow through centricity records unspoken news unspoken christian band

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos