Awaken Worship Hopes to Empower Believers with "Lionheart"

Awaken Worship

San Diego-based collective Awaken Worship will be releasing its national debut album, Lionheart (Deluxe), Oct. 1 via The Fuel Music. The album was inspired by Awaken Church's fierce stance on the importance of gathering together as believers to encourage and support one another. One of the first churches to open its doors in California after pandemic lockdowns, the eight-track recording is meant to give the suffering a voice and the persecuted a battle cry. 

"We were one of very few churches in America that really said, 'hey wait a minute, the church is the most essential institution on the planet, we can't shut down, our community needs it too badly,'" remembers Mike Yeager, who leads Awaken Worship, is the Eastlake Campus Pastor and wrote or co-wrote all but one of the new songs.

Produced by GRAMMY Award-nominated Stephen Blake Kanicka (Kanye West, for KING & COUNTRY, Danny Gokey) and mixed by David Cook (Chris Tomlin, Zach Williams, Shawn Mendes), Lionheart (Deluxe) tracks were born in the heat of 2020, a year fraught with conflicting opinions, increased hostility and even threats coming toward the church.  

"Our church is really big on the power of actually physically speaking out the precepts, promises and principles of God," says Yeager. "Lionheart is about taking the DNA of Awaken Church and putting it out in the world, far beyond the physical borders of our church. We want to make music that people will listen to who don't even listen to Christian music. The goal of our music program is really a missions effort."

As the new melodies from this season are carried out into the world, Awaken Worship hopes people will find encouragement to join in the outworking of God's plan, being active and hopeful in their mission and purpose as Christians.

"These songs are meant to really empower Christians," adds Yeager. "We are not the source of that authority, but we possess the authority nonetheless when we realize the source. The long term goal is to have a global impact, with Awaken Worship becoming a source of steadily released music that gives listeners terminology to express their beliefs and proclaim the truth of the Scriptures."

Here's the new record's tracklisting:

1) Lionheart 

(Songwriter: Mike Yeager; Vocalist: Jaydn Valdez)

2) There is Power In Your Name

(Songwriters: Mike Yeager, Stephen Blake Kanicka; Vocalist Jaydn Valdez)

3) Authority

(Songwriters: Daniel Molchanoff, Mike Yeager, Stephen Blake Kanicka; Vocalist: Joel Martinez)

4) Fearless

(Songwriters: Haley Betlem, Bryce Betlem, Mike Yeager, Stephen Blake Kanicka, Jaydn Valdez, Paul Anderberg, Mark Cullen; Vocalist: Jaydn Valdez)

5) King of Glory

(Songwriters: Providence Cordell, Deshauwn Tagliareni, Mike Yeager; Vocalist: Providence Cordell)

6) We've Already Won

(Songwriters: Joel Piper, Mike Yeager; Vocalist: Jaydn Valdez)

7) Sound of Heaven

(Songwriters: Providence Cordell, Andrew Bennett; Vocalist: Providence Cordell)

8) Authority (Piano Version)

Awaken Worship is a collection of worshippers with a heart for Holy Spirit filled, declarative and prophetic worship. It's the musical expression of Awaken Church, a vibrant, life-giving church led by Pastors Jurgen and Leanne Matthesius. For all the latest Awaken Worship music, news and more, go to: and Instagram.




Tags : Awaken Worship "Lionheart" awaken worship Awaken Church awaken worship new album

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos