Alan Jackson Returns to Both the Christian & Country Chart in a Big Way

Alan Jackson

Country music icon Alan Jackson has recently partnered with Gaither Music to re-release Precious Memories Collection. This week the 2-CD set enters the Billboard Christian Album chart at a new No. 2 high, up 1,043 percent to 5,000 units following its first week of wide release. It also returns to Top Country Albums at a new No. 26 peak.

The set combines Jackson's 2006 LP Precious Memories, which debuted atop both Top Christian Albums and Top Country Albums, and 2013's Precious Memories: Volume ll, which bowed at Nos. 1 and 2 on the charts, respectively. The new compilation was originally released as a Walmart exclusive. 

Taped at the historic Ryman, known as "The Mother Church of Country Music" in Nashville, TN, the collection, produced by Martin Fischer and directed by James Burton Yockey, captures Jackson's familiar, warm tones singing signature renditions of traditional hymns and gospel favorites. The DVD also includes behind-the-scenes interviews with him, his mother and his wife as he reflects on his musical roots.  

Jackson says of the project, "I grew up singing just about every one of these songs. And I love that sound, of that organ, and that music really stuck with me and, I'm sure, affected how I hear songs now and write songs, 'cause a lot of those old songs are really pretty, simple melodies that stick with you. These songs mean a lot to me.  And I'm proud that Gaither is rereleasing the DVD.  It was a very special moment to perform these songs at the Ryman with my mama in the audience."  The Precious Memories DVD will be featured as part of a television special airing on DirecTV, Dish TV, RFD-TV, TBN, PBS, The Heartland Network, GaitherTV, FamilyNet, CTN, GMC, GMTN, Guardian, Liberty, TCT and TLN.  It will air in Canada on Vision TV, CTS, The Miracle Channeland Hope TV

The video will be promoted via Gaither Music Group's website, consumer catalog, digital assets, social media and YouTube channel. Precious Memories, Live at the Ryman will be exclusively distributed by Capitol Christian Music Group and Universal Music and will be available throughout general market stores and the Christian marketplace in addition to online retailers including Walmart, iTunes, Amazon, www.gaither.comand

The video is AVAILABLE NOW for pre-order at the following link: 

A PREVIEW of the DVD can be found here: 

Memories, Live at the Ryman--DVD Song List:

  1. Blessed Assurance
  2. In the Garden
  3. I Love to Tell the Story
  4. Turn Your Eyes upon Jesus
  5. 'Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus
  6. When We All Get to Heaven
  7. BONUS:  Softly and Tenderly
  8. BONUS:  Standing on the Promises
  9. Are You Washed in the Blood? / I'll Fly Away
  10. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  11. Leaning on the Everlasting Arms
  12. The Old Rugged Cross
  13. How Great Thou Art
  14. I Want to Stroll over Heaven with You



Tags : Alan Jackson Country music alan jackson precious memories collection alan jackson news Gaither Music

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos