Mac Powell and the Family Reunion Announces the Release of Debut Album "Back Again"


After months of touring and teasing new music, Mac Powell and the Family Reunion announced today their full-length debut album Back Again will release on July 26th via Thirty Tigers. Led by the former lead singer of Grammy-winning, multi-platinum selling group Third Day, the new band is southern roots and American rock. It's a collection of foot-stomping, hand-clapping tunes that pay tribute to Mac's early musical inspirations from his childhood, including Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, and Jim Croce among others. The lead single and title track "Back Again" was also released today, a country rock travelogue and apt first peak into Mac's new endeavor. 

Listen to "Back Again" HERE. 

Pre-order/pre-save Back Again and receive the title track instantly HERE. 

"['Back Again'] exemplifies the band's high-energy sound," stated Billboard. "The remainder of the album, like the band's live shows, is a blend of country, rock and gospel, brought to life with Powell's gritty, soulful voice."

"Like most people, I grew up listening to my Mom and Dad's record collection," said Powell. "There was singer-songwriter stuff, some country and southern rock. I always liked artists like Creedence Clearwater Revival, James Taylor, The Eagles, or even the Stones, who weren't country per se, but who sometimes leaned more towards that sound. That's what was stirring my mind and my spirit." 

To that end, he formed Mac Powell and the Family Reunion after Third Day's final shows in 2018,  utilizing musical "brothers" who had been recording and playing live with him in support of his other solo projects, including his 2012 self-titled debut and 2014's Southpaw. Recorded in Atlanta with producer/musical director Jason Hoard, Powell and his bandmates purposely kept a raw edge to the record. The result is  a welcome looseness and down-home charm to Back Again . Beginning with the title track, Mac and his band are equally comfortable crafting singalongs ("Whoo!" featuring Craig Morgan), gentle ballads ("Red on a Rose") and hand-clapping, toe-tapping country pop ("Going to California," "Mississippi"). 

To further support the record, Powell and band plan on hitting the road this fall. In the meantime, catch them next month for a special hometown release show in Marietta, GA followed by Nashville's Grand Ole Opry. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit

Record Release Shows:

07/25 - Marietta, GA @ The Strand Theater

07/26 - Nashville, TN @ Grand Ole Opry 

Track List:

01) Back Again

02) Flood Waters

03) Whoo! (feat. Craig Morgan)

04) Watermelon Rind

05) Red On A Rose0

6) I'm Beginning To Wonder

07) Going To California

08) I Could Get Used To This

09) Tiptoein'

10) Heaven

11) What I Came Here For

12) Mess of Me

13) Settlin' Down

14) Sittin' Here Talkin' With You

15) Mississippi 

Follow Mac Powell and the Family Reunion:

Website - Facebook - Twitter - Instagram 

Tags : mac powell mac powell news mac powell and the family reunion back again thirty tigers

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos