Matthew West Helps Us Look to Christ with New Christmas Album

Matthew West

Five-time Grammy nominee, Billboard Music Award and American Music Award winner, Matthew West is proud to release his latest Christmas album, We Need Christmas, with Provident Label Group. The new album, which comprises of 11 songs, arrives on 10/29. After another challenging year, the West family is already turning our sights toward Christmas.

"I think it's because Christmas is a reminder that the love, joy, hope, and peace we need are all waiting to be found in a Savior," West announces. "I am excited to announce a new collection of Christmas songs that I hope will remind you of that same love, joy, hope, and peace. We Need Christmas is out on 10/29!"

The new festive record features the single,"The Hope of Christmas," which was originally released in 2020, was a hit at radio and was the inspiration for this new Christmas album. Combining a mix of old favorites, new songs, and live versions, "We Need Christmas" is sure to be a fan-favorite for years to come!

Matthew West speaks about 'The Hope of Christmas:" "It's felt like we could use a little Christmas right now! I find myself looking back at the Christmases of my youth, life seemed so much simpler then. There's a line in the song that says, 'these days peace on earth is hard to find, and I need you to remind me one more time.' I guess that pretty much sums up how I've been feeling this year, and I have a feeling I'm not the only one. I see a world reeling from the turmoil of a pandemic, political divides, and racial tension. I've always felt that my calling as a songwriter is to extract that hope even from situations where it seems all hope is lost. Writing this song helped me remember the reason why we can always have hope. Hope has a name. His name is Jesus, the Hope of Christmas." 

With more than 15 #1 hits, including Dove Nominated Song of the Year 2021 "Truth Be Told," which was a multi-week #1 hit, including Dove Nominated Song of the Year "Truth Be Told," which was a multi-week #1 radio single. West's songwriting has always been a strength of his as an artist and has over 100 songwriting credits on other artist's projects. 

Here's the tracklist:

  • 1 We Need Christmas
  • 2 Make Way
  • 3 Away in a Manger (Love Came Near)
  • 4 The Hope of Christmas
  • 5 I'll Be Home for Christmas
  • 6 Christmas Through the Years
  • 7 Winter Wonderland
  • 8 Gobble Gobble
  • 9 Come on Christmas (Live from the Story House)
  • 10 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Live from the Story House)
  • 11 O Holy Night (Live from the Story House)


Tags : Matthew West Matthew West We Need Christmas matthew west news Matthew West Christmas album Matthew West "The Hope of Christmas." Christmas Albums 2021

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos