Justin Lynn Named Songwriter of the Year at the Competition

Justin Lynn

Worship leader/songwriter Justin Lynn has been named Songwriter of the Year in the 20th annual competition. The contest, sponsored by CM United, is the longest-running Christian songwriting contest in existence. Lynn won the competition with a song titled "In the Fire." A video for the award-winning song is on YouTube.

Lynn was selected by an elite panel of judges that included Clay Crosse, 4-time Dove Award-winning artist and songwriter; John Katina, lead vocalist and songwriter for Gotee' Records recording artist The Katinas; Chrissy Conway Katina, vocalist and songwriter for Sparrow Records recording artist ZoeGirl; and Cale Kight, lead guitarist and songwqriter for Love Like Gravity and a songwriter/artist with multiple Billboard charting hits.

In addition to the title, winning the competition earns Lynn numerous prizes and opportunities, including premium international radio promotion, press release writing and distribution and artist development and consulting.

For a complete list of prizes, go to

Each year, the contest names quarterly winners, with all first place quarterly winners becoming eligible to be selected as the annual songwriter of the year.

A full list of winners, including quarterly winners, is below:
20th Annual Songwriter of the Year - Justin Lynn

1st Place Winner (1st Qtr) - Colin Reger
2nd Place Winner (1st Qtr) - Courtney Young
3rd Place Winner (1st Qtr) - Mark Boucot

1st Place Winner (2nd Qtr) - Justin Lynn
2nd Place Winner (2nd Qtr) - Cristian Lebron
3rd Place Winner (2nd Qtr) - Ricardo Pigari

1st Place Winner (3rd Qtr) - Lance Schmidt
2nd Place Winner (3rd Qtr) - Rob Nightingale
3rd Place Winner (3rd Qtr) - Katlyn Crawford

1st Place Winner (4th Qtr) - Arielle Nichole
2nd Place Winner (4th Qtr) - Amanda Joy Powell
3rd Place Winner (4th Qtr) - Curtis Ray Kokenos

The annual competition runs from January through December. The 21st Annual Songwriting Content currently is underway. Learn more at; all details can be found at; you may enter at

Judges for the 21st Annual Songwriting Contest are Clay Crosse, John Katina, Cale Kight and Paul Wright, singer/songwriter and recording artist formerly on Gotee Records.


Tags : Justin Lynn Justin Lynn news Competition Paul Wright John Katina Clay Crosse Colin Reger Lance Schmidt Arielle Nichole

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos