Hillsong Worship's "God He Reigns" Turns 10 Years-Old

Hillsong Worship

Hillsong Worship's "God He Reigns" turns 10 years old this July.  "God He Reigns" is the Australian mega church's fourteenth album and it features worship favorites such as "Salvation is Here," "Emmanuel," "Saviour," and "His Love." "Emmanuel" written by Reuben Morgan was later re-recorded for Hillsong Worship's 2012 Christmas album "We've a Savior."  Both versions feature Darlene Zschech on vocals.

"God He Reigns" was recorded live at the Sydney Entertainment Centre on 27 February 2005 by Darlene Zschech and the Hillsong team with a congregation of 10,500. God He Reigns was released at the annual Hillsong Conference in July 7th. 

The album was a huge success in Australia peaking at the ARIA at #2.  The DVD topped the charts at #1. It was released in a week where Australian idol winners Guy Sebastian and Paulini both had albums released.  Hillsong Worship managed to outsell most secular releases that week and it became one of the nation's biggest sellers that week.

"God He Reigns" appears in 2 formats.  The US version released under Integrity Media consists of 13 songs.  In Australia, the album came in the form of 2 CDs with 3 additional songs.  "God He Reigns" also features Tulele Faletolu's last time appearing on a Hillsong Worship Live album.  On the record, Faletolu sang "All For Love."

The majority of songs were written by Marty Sampson, Darlene Zschech, Reuben Morgan, and Joel Houston. Raymond Badham, Ned Davies, Mia Fieldes and Miriam Webster also contributed to writing songs. Songs were written in the 12 months prior to the album recording, some songs were first recorded on the Hillsong United album "Look to You."


1.      "Let Creation Sing" (Reuben Morgan)

2.      "Salvation Is Here" (Joel Houston)

3.      "His Love" (Raymond Badham)

4.      "Emmanuel" (Morgan)

5.      "Saviour" (Darlene Zschech)

6.      "Wonderful God" (Ned Davies)

7.      "God He Reigns"/"All I Need Is You" (chorus) (Marty Sampson)

8.      "Yours Is the Kingdom" (Houston)

9.      "Welcome in This Place" (Miriam Webster)

10.  "Let Us Adore" (Morgan)

11.  "All for Love" (Mia Fieldes)(Men of Hillsong)

12.  "Know You More" (Zschech)

13.  "There Is Nothing Like" (Sampson & Jonas Myrin)


Tags : hillsong worship hillsong church Darlene Zschech god he reigns hillsong worship god he reigns Hillsong LIVE Hillsong Darlene Zschech Hillsong United

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos