7 Things to Know About Carolyn Arends' New Album "Recognition"

Carolyn Arends

Canadian CCM veteran Carolyn Arends returns with her brand new album RECOGNITION. The artist who brought us "Seize the Day" and "New Year's Day" offers 12 new songs. Standouts include the rollicking "Becoming Human," "Without Music (feat. Amy Grant)," "Pool of Tears," and the soul-bearing  "To Cry for You". 

Here are 7 things you need to know about this new album.

1. Amy Grant duets with Arends on the track "Without Music."My duet with Amy Grant is a personal highlight," Arends explains. "Knowing that this melody is the first thing she sang after heart surgery makes me treasure her performance even more." Other guests include the wonderful McCrary Sisters on Becoming Human and God's Speed. 

2. RECOGNITION, the first full-length release of new songs from Arends in six years, is a cohesive work, co-produced by Carolyn and Roy Salmond, and mixed by Richie Biggs (Joy Williams, Civil Wars, The Lone Bellow). 

3. The album's artwork includes a beautiful interpretation of the lyrics to "Almost Didn't Recognize You," painted by Brian Buhler. "One of the themes of the album is that there's much to be seen if we'll only take a long, loving look," reveals Arends.  And, evidently, much to be heard if we'll listen. 

4. Songs are released one by one over the next few months to digital platforms. However, if you want to get the entire album now, you can purchase the downloads and physical copies here.

5. RECOGNITION features Arends on acoustic guitar and piano with long-time collaborator Spencer Capier on violin, a suite of mandolins, bouzouki, and electric guitar. Co-producer Roy Salmond contributes accordion, pump organ, and additional guitars, while acoustic bassist Miles Hill (Van Morrison, Eric Clapton) and drummer Randall Stoll (k.d. Lang, Tom Cochrane) keep things grooving. 

6. Here's the tracklisting:

1. Becoming Human
2. Without Music (featuring Amy Grant)
3. Memento Mori
4. Pool of Tears
5. To Cry for You
6. Gather Me
7. God's Speed
8. Maladjusted
9. All Flame
10. Let Love Lead You Home
11. Almost Didn't Recognize You
12. After This (Bonus Track)

7. You can listen to the track "To Cry for You" here.

Tags : Carolyn Arends "Recognition" carolyn arends carolyn arends new album carolyn arends interview

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos