Miranda Lambert Contributes the Hymn "Sweet By and By" to Dave Cobb's New Album

Miranda Lambert

With 5 #1 country music albums and numerous Top 10 hits, Miranda Lambert is one of country music's most famous veterans.  But deep inside of this superstar, she's still a country girl with deep Gospel roots.  In a move that was so in character with her Christian faith, Lambert has recorded the hymn "Swett By and By" for Dave Crobb's upcoming concept album Southern Family.

Southern Family will be released on March 18th. "Sweet By and By" is one of 12 tracks on the Southern Family album. Artists who have contributed to the album include Zac Brown, Brandy Clark, Jason Isbell, Jamey Johnson and others. The tracks are all meant to give listeners a look into each singer's upbringing. "These are songs written about growing up and songs that are cut that they've heard," Cobb says. "Maybe one your mother sang to you. Something that means a lot to your family."

"A friend and I were talking and he said, 'You should make a concept record.' I laughed him off the phone. Who's going to put out a concept record and why would anyone do it?" Cobb tells Rolling Stone Country of Southern Family's genesis. "But the more I thought about it, everybody has a great story, about their parents, their grandparents or brother and sister. I wanted to have really talented artists custom write and do songs that mean a lot to them, and also just make the song that maybe they wouldn't put on their record. The deep song, or the song that doesn't fit in the queue or wouldn't be a single. I wanted them to do the most honest song they could do."

"These are songs written about growing up and songs that are cut that they've heard. Maybe one your mother sang to you," Cobb says. "Something that means a lot to your family."

Here's the artists and track list for Southern Family

1. John Paul White, "Simple Song"
2. Jason Isbell, "God Is a Working Man"
3. Brent Cobb, "Down Home"
4. Miranda Lambert, "Sweet By and By"
5. Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton, "You Are My Sunshine"
6. Zac Brown, "Grandma's Garden"
7. Jamey Johnson, "Momma's Table"
8. Anderson East, "Learning"
9. Holly Williams, "Settle Down"
10. Brandy Clark, "I Cried"
11. Shooter Jennings, "Can You Come Over?"
12. Rich Robinson, "The Way Home"

Southern Family is set for release on March 18. The project is available for pre-order via iTunes and Amazon.





Tags : miranda lambert dave cobb southern family sweet by and by miranda lambert faith miranda lambert sweet by and by miranda lambert news miranda lambert latest miranda lambert new song

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos