NBC "The Voice's" Chevel Shepherd's "A Good Ol' Country Christmas" is Now Available


Vocal powerhouse and winner of season 15 of NBC's "The Voice," Chevel Shepherd, spent two weeks in Durango, Colorado self-recording and co-producing a collection of holiday tracks spanning generations-from Bill Monroe's 1951 "Christmas Times A Comin'" to contemporary classic from The Polar Express, "When Christmas Comes to Town." Soaring vocals and time-honored acoustics wrap the 12-song album, A Good Ol' Country Christmas, in time for the holidays, available now.

Independently released on Shepherd's Country Sweetheart label and distributed by ONErpm, the holiday album jubilantly opens with Loretta Lynn's "Country Christmas" and finds notably powerful "Mary Did You Know" before making stops at timeless classics like "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" and "Winter Wonderland."

Co-produced by Shepherd and Scott "Scooter" Smith, Shepherd was accompanied by her band as well as special guests Gary Cook (mandolin and acoustic guitar) and Matt Palmer (fiddle/twin fiddles), relying on fiddle, banjo and steel guitar during her recording session in Colorado.

"I grew up singing carols with my family, and it's really not the holidays without these songs as our soundtracks," shares Shepherd. "A Good Ol' Country Christmas reminds me of how special this time is at home, the people who raised me and the traditions we hold dear."

At only 18-years-old, the Farmington, New Mexico native is committed to remaining true to her roots and influences. Raised on country music and the outdoors-tending to animals on the farm, fixing cars with her dad and barrel racing at the rodeo-Shepherd reveres the sound of her musical idols, Loretta Lynn, Reba, Tanya Tucker and The Chicks. So, the wise-beyond-her-years vocalist walked away from the recording contract that comes with winning "The Voice" in order to maintain creative control of her own sound.

With what PEOPLE calls "a larger than life voice," Shepherd's recently released "Just Like the Circus" penned by Kacey Musgraves, Shane McAnally and Ashley Arrison. The track led to declare her "one of country music's most creative newcomers" while "vividly showing what heartbreak might look like under the big top" in the visually stunning music video envisioned by Shepherd and director David Dibble. Introducing herself as a mature new storyteller, Shepherd made her debut earlier this year with "Everybody's Got A Story," penned by Musgraves, McAnally and Brandy Clark, and "Mama Got the Chair," a clever call-and-response to George Strait's 1985 hit "The Chair."

A Good Ol' Country Christmas track listing

  1. Country Christmas
  2. Let It Snow
  3. Mary Did You Know
  4. Up On The Rooftop
  5. Santa Claus is Comin' to Town
  6. Rudolph
  7. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  8. Christmas Times A Comin'
  9. It's Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas
  10. Go Tell It On The Mountain
  11. Winter Wonderland
  12. When Christmas Comes To Town

Co-produced by Chevel Shepherd & Scott "Scooter" Smith
For more information, visit Follow on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.
About Chevel Shepherd
Chevel Shepherd is helping us all remember the power of pedal steel and good stories. With bold sincerity and a sparrow's natural instincts, Chevel sings modern country music that toes tradition's best lines. The now 18-year-old New Mexico native first charmed America as the champion of season 15 of "The Voice," nurtured by coach Kelly Clarkson. Chevel spent the next year checking off a long list of red-letter firsts, including opening shows for Clarkson, Little Big Town, Brothers Osborne, Lee Brice and more, along with singing "God Bless America" before the Indianapolis 500. On March 20, 2020, Chevel released two highly-anticipated new songs: the moving "Everybody's Got a Story," written by Kacey Musgraves, Shane McAnally, and Brandy Clark; and "Mama Got the Chair," a clever call-and-response to George Strait's iconic "The Chair" penned by Nora Collins, Nick Donley, and The Voice alum Dave Fenley. With additional releases, "Southern Boy," "The Letter" and "Just Like the Circus," and A Good Ol' Country Christmas as her latest offering, fans can expect more music to come in 2021. 


Tags : nbc's the voice Chevel Shepherd Chevel Shepherd christmas album Chevel Shepherd "A Good Ol' Country Christmas"

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos