Flame - 'Royal Flush' Review

Flame - Royal Flush
(Photo : Clear Sight Music)
Flame - Royal Flush
Most people may scratch their heads, wondering what the correlation between poker and Jesus is. Flame knew this, so he explained up front what the title and theme of his 7th album, inspired by 2 Peter 1:3, is about. He said, "In the game of poker, the highest hand you can receive is a royal flush, which is a ten, a jack, a queen, a king and an ace. When I thought about the concept, I said, ‘Man, I think about what Christ has done in the life of a Christian. He set us up to win.’ We’ve got the highest hand. If you’re not a Christian, you can receive the royal flush through Christ."

With guest appearances by other popular artists like Serge, KB, Mike Real, V. Rose, K-Drama, D-Maub and NF, the entire album kicks. Great music, killer beats and preaching courtesy of Pastor Ryan Fullerton that will make you stand up and take note - Royal Flush offers it all.

Kicking off with "Break the Building," listeners will find out right off of the bat that Flame is in this to spread the message of faith. No surprise there - this is a man who has been very open about his involvement in the drug and gang culture of inner city St. Louis and what brought him out of it after a nearly fatal car accident as a teenager. The founder of Clear Sight Music went from the gang to the studio to Boyce College, where he earned a degree in biblical counseling and he has never shied away from sharing where he comes from so he can reach others who are stuck in the same lifestyle he was.

"Baited," with a touch of Jamaica, "Stackin'" with a warning about loving money more than loving God and closer "Start Over" (which reminds us all that in Christ, we don't have to be who we were - we can start over and be new creations) alone make this project worth the price. The other tracks are bonuses!

Flame is currently pursuing a master's degree at Southern Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky and his dedication to ministry as well as his dediciation to furthering his religious education is, perhaps, one of the reasons that Fox News' chief religion correspondent, Lauren Green, recently interviewed him.

GENRE: Christian Hip Hop / Rap
RECORD LABEL: Clear Sight Music
RELEASE DATE: October 1, 2013

Title Track List:

  1. Break the Building (featuring Serge)
  2. All In (featuring KB)
  3. Sanctuary (featuring Mike Real)
  4. Sleepin'
  5. Game Over
  6. Baited (featuring Fedel)
  7. Maranatha
  8. 2 Peter 1:3 Interlude (featuring Ryan Fullerton)
  9. Read Em & Weep (featuring V. Rose)
  10. Believe
  11. Stackin' Intro
  12. Stackin'
  13. Mixed Up (featuring K-Drama & D-Maub)
  14. The Line Interlude (featuring. Ryan Fullerton)
  15. Start Over (featuring NF)


  • Maranatha
  • Believe
  • Mixed Up

Tags : Flame Christian Music Review Gospel Rap

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos