Andrew Greer Talks About His New Album and Collaborating with Other Artists

Andrew Greer

Seven-time Dove Award-nominated singer/songwriter, producer, author and television/podcast host, Andrew Greer has released his brand new album Andrew Greer & Friends' Tune My Heart 2...Songs of Goodness & Love (Lucid Artists/MA'M Recordings). The set follows last year's Tune My Heart...Songs of Rest & Reflection-which debuted at #1 and spent 23 weeks atop Parable Christian Stores National Retail chart.

Greer shares how the idea of the series came about. " Tune My Heart came to be fairly organically. When my co-producers, Travis Patton and Kyle Buchanan, and I began talking through a possible song list - both known spiritual songs and new tunes we were writing for this record - the arch of each song, both melodically and lyrically, pointed to peace. Then as we began to dream up the sort of Appalachian-folk symphonic sound we wanted to shape the songs with, the natural bent was towards what the subtitle says, "rest and reflection." 

I am usually much more into thinking through a record's theme or trajectory before picking songs, and then choosing songs to fit my thought process and the guidelines that creates. This process was quite the opposite, and more satisfying in the end as a result.

Then to think we would be releasing it in the middle of a very strange, and very tenuous season in our communities, our country, and in our world ... we could never have guessed. So without hyper-spiritualizing this response, perhaps the record truly made and directed itself "for such a time as this." 

On this set, Greer gets to sing with Point of Grace, Selah's Allan Hall, Anthony Evans, Buddy Greene, and Westward Road. "Collaboration has long been a go-to in my professional and personal life," Greer adds. "Some of my most requested music, my foray into TV and streaming series and podcasts, my first book, all of these endeavors were the benefit of collaboration. Even this record is under the moniker "Andrew Greer & Friends." I've just always felt a bit more whole and satisfied when working with others - especially in music."  


01. Prelude In C
02. Be Thou My Vision
03. What Love Can Do / It Is Well With My Soul (feat. Anthony Evans)
04. Streams of Mercy
05. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
06. There You Wait (Goodness & Love) (feat. Point of Grace)
07. Savior Like A Shepherd
08. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
09. When I Survey The Wonderous Cross (feat. Buddy Greene)
10. I Need Thee Every Hour (feat. Allen Hall & Westward Road)
11. Aurora (A Blessing)

Tags : andrew greer andrew greer new album Point of Grace Selah Andrew Greer & Friends' Tune My Heart 2...Songs of Goodness & Love westward road buddy greene Allan Hall anthony evans

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos